Local NewsNews

Board of Education Officials Re-Elected and New Members Welcomed

On November 17th, the Sun West Board of Education held its Organizational Meeting. Organizational Meetings are held annually as well as after Board of Education elections, which took place on November 9th. The purpose of Organizational Meetings is to elect the Board Chair and Vice-Chair as well as make committee assignments for the upcoming year.

At the meeting, current Chair Karen Itterman (Subdivision No. 3) and current Vice-Chair John Collins (Subdivision No. 6) were both re-elected to their positions for another term.
Itterman and Collins both thanked the Board and expressed optimism that the Board will continue its work to provide a quality education that puts students first.

The Board also welcomed three new members at its meeting on November 17th. The new members take their positions after being acclaimed or elected following Board of Education elections held on November 9th.

The new members are Michelle Brummund (Subdivision No. 1), Michele Whitfield (Subdivision No. 2) and Cara Nisbet (Subdivision No. 8). All three of the new members join the Board with a wealth of experience and many valuable skills that will be of great benefit to Sun West students.

Michelle Brummund and her husband live on a farm north east of Eston with their two teenage children. Brummund holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Saskatchewan and has a Professional Director designation from the Johnson Shoyma Graduate School of Public Policy in Saskatoon. She is a Chartered Professional Accountant and operates her own practice in Eston and has previously worked for accounting firms in Calgary and Kindersley.

Brummund is very active in her community. She has served as a Board member of the Prairie Centre Credit Union since 2010, where she was Chair of their Audit and Risk Committee. She is a leader in the Eston 4-H Club and the President of the West Central Pony Club and helped organize a Farm Safety Day for Eston Composite School.

“I believe,” stated Brummund, “that helping others makes a difference in the world. One person at a time, one day at a time and one project at a time – it makes a lasting impact on the world.”

Cara Nisbet and her husband who is a local Rosetown farmer have three children all who attend schools in Rosetown. Nisbet graduated from the University of Saskatchewan with a Bachelor of Commerce Degree, majoring in Accounting. She later completed a Health Care Administration Certificate from the British Columbia Institute of Technology.
Additionally, she holds the designations of Chartered Professional in Human Resources (CPHR) and Fellow of the Credit Union Institute of Canada (FCUIC).

Nisbet is currently the Vice President Human Resources for Prairie Centre Credit Union. Prior to that she held positions as Manager of Finance and Health Care Administrator for the Heartland Health Region (now the Saskatchewan Health Authority), and began her career as a Tax Auditor with Canada Revenue Agency.

“I am passionate about the educational system and excited to be a part of making it the best it can be for everyone, but most especially the students” Nisbet explained. “This is a very interesting time to be involved with Education with everything going on with COVID-19 and the economy itself. I am very much looking forward to being an integral part of the strategic planning process,” she added.

Michele Whitfield and her husband farm near Coleville where they raised two children and currently are enjoying four grandchildren. Whitfield worked for Sun West for 30 years as an Educational Assistant and a School Bus Driver starting her career in Rossville School in Coleville and finishing it at Kindersley Composite School. While farming and raising her children, she earned an Educational Assistant Certificate from the Saskatchewan Institute of Applied Arts and Science (now called Saskatchewan Polytechnic).

“Every student deserves to have an education and to learn how to develop their own goals to succeed in life,” said Whitfield. “My passion is education and I will dedicate my time to help make improvements so that students and staff can achieve their own goals.”

The returning Board members made its newest members feel welcome and also took time to recognize the contributions of Robert Dewey, the former Subdivision No. 2 member who would not be returning.

The returning Board members are Karen Itterman (Subdivision No. 3), Sue Lytle (Subdivision No. 4), Scott Sander (Subdivision No. 5), John Collings (Subdivision No. 6), Cathy Morrow (Subdivision No. 7) and Ruth Griffith (Subdivision No. 9).

For the latest information and for more updates on everything Kindersley ‘Like’ the Kindersley Social Facebook page below…

For the latest information and for more updates on everything Kindersley, download our app! Get it on Google Play
App Store coming soon!

Google Play and the Google Play logo are trademarks of Google LLC.

Related Articles

Back to top button